The Green Man

Sustain.Able
Feb 13, 2023

--

From the jungles to the plains

The mightiest kings

Would kiss the ground I walked on

I lapped up your offerings of virgin blood

And devoured your first-born children

So that your crops will remain bountiful

And when you offered me nothing

my rivers drowned your wives

my earth swallowed your homes

I was here since the dawn of men

I saw you swim through shoals of fish

And sling spears at birds soaring above

Now you have turned my water

into barren oceans of death

Blotted out my sun

with poisonous fumes of greed

You now kiss the feet of

new gods

a horde of bloated oil and steel

never sated

But mark this:

I was here since the dawn of men

And I will be here for eons after

--

--

Sustain.Able

A blog dedicated to helping readers lead happier, healthier and more sustainable lives.