Marathon

Sustain.Able
1 min readApr 15, 2023
Photo by Isaac Wendland on Unsplash

Thump, thump, thump

My heart is going to tear from my chest

The heat of the sun clings to my skin

My nose in invaded by the stench of my sweat

Like legends past, the ground is soft and lush

With laced white fennels springing up and down

As the light of the sun

shines upon the ancient ruins

And the burial mounds of

the fallen dotting the plains

A blur of faceless voices buzz and babble as I approach

Through a daze of dust, I see the finishing line

As if wearing Hermes’s winged sandals

My feet throbbing as they pound against the tarmac road

I fly towards my glory, to the cheers of the crowd

I too want to be remembered through history

Like the ancient warriors who drove the Persians to the sea

And the swift messenger who arrived in Athens,

proclaiming ‘Our enemies are dead, victory, victory!’

--

--

Sustain.Able

A blog dedicated to helping readers lead happier, healthier and more sustainable lives.